In West Virginia, the penalties for drunk driving offenses are rigidly enforced throughout the state. With Labor Day weekend fast approaching, local authorities will be cracking down on drivers who are over the legal Blood Alcohol Level of (.08) for drivers over 21 and (.02) for drivers under the age of 21. If convicted, you can expect jail time, fines and license suspension.
For a first offense, those convicted of drunk driving can face:
– Up to 6 months in jail
– From 2 days to 6 months in jail for Blood Alcohol Level of .15 or above – From 2 days to 12 months for drivers with Minors under 16 in vehicle – Fine: From $100 to $500 – Fine: From $100 to $1,000 for Blood Alcohol Level of .15 or above – Fine: From $200 to $1,000 for drivers with Minors under 16 in vehicle – License Suspension: 15 days to 45 days (Blood Alcohol Level of .15 or above) or Ignition Interlock
Multiple drunk driving convictions hold steeper penalties, including increased jail time, higher fines and longer license suspension periods:
Second DUI Conviction:
– From 6 months to 12 months in jail – Fine: from $1,000 to $3,000 – License Suspension: 1 year – Mandatory Ignition Interlock
Third DUI Conviction:
– Felony offense – From 1 year to 3 years in jail – Fine: from $3,000 to $5,000 – License Suspension: 1 year – Mandatory Ignition Interlock
If you’ve been convicted of a drunk driving offense in West Virginia, you must hire a professional attorney to fight for your rights. Weight, gender and body fat percentage can all play a key factor in determining your Blood Alcohol Level and can be integral in proving your innocence.