If you’re looking to file a personal injury lawsuit against another party in the state of West Virginia, it’s important that you do so as soon as possible after the injury has taken place in order to stay within the statute of limitations. Legal action is often not the most desirable option for many people, but sometimes it’s the only way to recover damages for the negligence of another person or company. But you’ve got to move quickly to obtain a personal injury lawyer who can fight your case for you.
No matter if it’s a car accident, slip and fall or product defect injury, the statue of limitations in West Virginia is very strict. Most personal injury claims have to be filed within 2 years of occurrence or knowledge of injury, whichever happens first. Here are time limits for specific types of lawsuits:
Negligence/Personal Injury/Injury to Personal Property: 2 years Intentional Torts: 2 years Libel/Slander/Defamation: 1 year Product Liability, Medical Malpractice and other Professional Malpractice: within 2 years from the date of the injury OR within 2 years from the date the injury was or reasonably should have been detected.
After the statute of limitations is up, you have no legal recourse against the person or company that harmed you, so don’t delay. You shouldn’t have to suffer in pain, pay for medical bills or lose time off of work because of negligence on the part of someone else. A lawyer in West Virginia can sort through the details of your case quickly to file your claim within state-imposed time restrictions.